Bereavement is a distressing occurrence which affects people in different ways and the death of a loved one can be very devastating. Grieving over the loss of a loved one is a process and there is no right or wrong way to feel.

Some people describe the following emotions:


  • Shock
  • Feeling numb
  • Sadness
  • Yearning
  • Blame
  • Fear
  • Confusion
  • Anxiety
  • Feeling overwhelmed
  • Helplessness
  • Agitation
  • Dread
  • Anger
  • Shame
  • Guilt
  • worry
  • Frustration


This sometimes would lead to isolation, withdrawal, rumination, and loss of appetite, fatigue, insomnia, depression, difficulty concentrating, exhaustion, tiredness and tearfulness.


There are five stages of bereavement which includes:


1) Denial and Isolation i.e. difficulty with accepting that your loss is real and being in shock.

2) Anger due to experiencing pain and grief.

3) Bargaining which involves struggling to find meaning for what has happened.

4) Depression and Isolation i.e. lack of energy and feeling helpless.

5) Acceptance which involves adjusting to life without the person you have lost, exploring options and putting new plans in place.


Coping with loss of a loved one is a deeply personal experience and allowing yourself to go through the process of grieving without resisting it helps. However, grief can become complicated when an individual becomes functionally and significantly impaired by symptoms of bereavement